Payment Plans & Extensions to Pay
The Sugar Land Municipal Court makes extensions-to-pay and payment plans available to defendants for paying fees and fines to settle your citation transactions. If you are unable to pay, you may request a one-time 30 day extension to pay. You must enter a plea and complete the Standard Payment Plan Form and select the 30 day extension option.
Requests for multiple violations must include all case numbers or citation numbers. Any cases that are in a warrant status will not be eligible for a 30 day extension to pay option. Once the Standard Payment Plan Form is completed, you may submit the form online or by email to CourtCIP@sugarlandtx.gov. You may mail the form to the Sugar Land Municipal Court P.O. Box or deliver the form to the court. The addresses are listed below:
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 110; Sugar Land, TX 77487
Physical Address: 1200 Hwy. 6, South; Sugar Land, TX 77478
Email Address: CourtCIP@sugarlandtx.gov
The Sugar Land Municipal Court accepts several forms of payment including Discover, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Money Orders, and checks. Note: Personal Checks are NOT accepted over $200. An online convenience fee ranging from $3.00 to $5.50 is accessed to each payment transaction made online or via automated phone system.
Requesting a Payment Plan
Standard Payment Plan
The Standard Payment Plan is $100 a month. The State of Texas requires that a one-time mandatory Time Payment Fee be assessed to each case which is not satisfied within the first 30 days ranging between $15 - $25. You will be required to submit the payment and complete the Standard Payment Plan Form as instructed above.
Approved Ability to Pay Plan
If you are unable to make a $100 a month payment, you may opt to complete the Statement of Ability to Pay/ Financial Information Form and be evaluated to qualify to make a smaller payment or alternate payment options. Supporting financial documents are required along with your completed financial information form. Once received your application will be reviewed for approval. The Court will then interview you and discuss your financial ability to pay.
The State of Texas requires that a one-time mandatory Time Payment Fee be assessed to each case which is not satisfied within the first 30 days ranging between $15 - $25. The first payment will be 30 days from the interview date unless otherwise determined during the interview. Approval will be mailed to the last known address along with a payment agreement and instructions for payments.
It is the responsibility of the individual to ensure that the Court has received your request to be considered for an Ability-To-Pay Plan. It is the responsibility of the individual to follow-up with the Court and check the status of the payment plan approval.