Land Use Advisory Committee

The Land Use Advisory Committee (LUAC) is a committee appointed by City Council and made up of residents of Sugar Land and its extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ). Members of the committee include representation from neighborhoods across the city such as Sugar Mill on the north side and Lakes of Austin Park on the south side. LUAC members represent a diversity of experience with members ranging in professional occupations of architecture and engineering to real estate and law. The Committee encompasses a variety of viewpoints with ages ranging from young single adults to empty nesters and a diversity of ethnicities. Members of the committee all share a commitment to ensure that their hometown is preserved as the City's future is built. 

LUAC's Mission

Throughout the last four years, LUAC has been diligently working to develop policies that will guide future land use decisions. Their tasks included: 

  • investigate and consider a variety issues that influence land use outcomes
  • participate in community dialogue and education
  • develop policy recommendations
  • advocate for the Land Use Plan

The Land Use Advisory Committee has completed their work and unanimously endorsed the draft Land Use Plan.

Land Use Advisory Committee

LUAC Members

  • Debby Coffman, Co-Chair 
  • Bob Ring, Co-Chair 
  • Kelley Austin 
  • Ravi Arora 
  • Heather Davis, Planning & Zoning Commission Representative 
  • Nish Gurnani
  • Erum Jivani
  • Taylor Landin 
  • Julia Mickum 
  • Chelsea Ngyuen 
  • Jordan Schlafer 
  • Karolena Serratos 
  • Glenn Smith