News Flash

2017 City News Releases

Posted on: March 8, 2017

Elections Canceled for Unopposed Races

Sugar Land, Texas - The elections for City Council Districts 1, 2 and 3 were cancelled on March 7 after no one filed to run against the incumbents.

Councilmembers Stephen R. Porter, District 1, Bridget R. Yeung, District 2, and Amy L. Mitchell, District 3, were declared as elected to office for two-year terms and will take their oaths of office on May 16.

District 4 councilmember Harish Jajoo did not seek reelection. An election to fill his City Council position will be held on May 6 with three candidates on the ballot -- Sean Burnett, Carol McCutcheon and Qaisar Q Imam. Only registered voters residing within District 4 will vote in the election.

For candidate bios and voting information, visit

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in 2017 City News Releases

Sugar Land to Host 12 Days of Annexation

Posted on: November 15, 2017

Thieves Caught on Camera Stealing Purse

Posted on: November 9, 2017

Video Captures Man Breaking into House

Posted on: November 1, 2017

Public Hearing Set for Oct. 26

Posted on: October 13, 2017

Police Searching for Burglary Suspects

Posted on: October 9, 2017

City to Host Sugar Land Strong Event

Posted on: September 15, 2017

Tax Rate and Budget to be Considered

Posted on: September 13, 2017

Sugar Land Receives Clean Audit

Posted on: February 23, 2017

New Ordinance Addresses Distracted Driving

Posted on: February 22, 2017

Cultural Kite Festival Set for March 4

Posted on: February 9, 2017

Police Investigating Bank Robbery

Posted on: February 6, 2017