Warrant Options

How to Clear Your Warrant

You may have a warrant cleared by one of the seven following options:

  1. You may pay your fine online at the following website link:  https://www.municipalonlinepayments.com/sugarlandtx/court/search
  2. You may pay your fine in-person at the court lobby window, or you may pay your fine by mail:
    • The court mailing address is Sugar Land Municipal Court, P.O. Box 110, Sugar Land, TX 77487-0110. 
      • The accepted payment methods are Cash, Money Order, Cashier’s Check;
      • If you are using a credit card, the Court accepts American Express, Visa, Discover or MasterCard.  No personal or business checks are accepted.
    • No partial payments of less than the full amount due will be accepted online or with the automated telephone payment system.
  3. You may apply for a payment plan.  This option is explained in the next section.
  4.  If you have an Arrest Warrant, you may post a Personal Recognizance Bond at the Court lobby windows. This option is for Arrest Warrants only.
  5. You may choose to post an attorney bond or a surety bond.  The Sugar Land Presiding Judge requires that the original surety bond paperwork be submitted to the Court.  The original surety bond can be brought or mailed to the Court.  Please ensure you are using a bonding company from our Court’s approved Bonding Companies Listing.  You must include all the required information.
  6. You may request jail credit for time served as payment toward your fine by submitting a Motion for Credit for Time Served.  This form can be found online.  Proof of incarceration is required.  Complete the Motion for Credit for Time Served and submit this document and your proof documents to the Court by mail or in-person at the Court lobby windows.
  7. You may make a court appearance at the next walk-in docket. Walk-in dockets are every Tuesday-Friday mornings.  To be allowed into the courtroom, you must sign-in for court at the lobby windows between 8:00 AM – 9:00 AM. This docket is available to individuals with outstanding warrants who are unable to post a bond and would like to discuss their case(s) with the City Prosecutor or the Judge.

Payment Plans for cases with a Warrant

You may qualify for a payment plan to satisfy your court fines and fees.  Your warrant will be lifted when you elect to be on a payment plan.

  1. All cases placed on any form of a payment arrangement will result in a conviction on your driving and/or criminal record. If you want to know how a traffic conviction will affect your driving record, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety or seek legal advice from an attorney.
  2. All cases placed on a payment arrangement where the first payment exceeds 31 days from the date of your payment arrangement, will incur additional charges.  This is a Texas State, mandatory, $25 one-time payment fee for each case (pursuant to Section 51.921, of the Government Code.)
  3. To participate in a payment arrangement you must complete a the Standard Payment Plan Form or the Financial Ability Form.  Your payments will be based on your ability to pay.
    • To request a payment plan you can appear at the court lobby windows and speak with one of the clerks;
    • You may mail in the completed payment plan forms located on our court website;  
    • You may scan the completed forms and return them by email to courtcip@sugarlandtx.gov.
      • All forms must legible
      • All information must be complete
      • All sections of the forms must be filled in
    • You must provide accurate contact information and it is your responsibility to update your contact information as needed.
  4. After the court receives your request you will be contacted by phone, to complete your payment arrangements.
  5. No partial payments of less than the full amount due will be accepted until your payment arrangement has been granted and your warrant is lifted.

Community Service for cases with a Warrant

If you are unable to make payments, you may appear before the Judge to request community service as an alternative to paying the fines and fees associated with your citation. To request community service, please follow the steps provided below:

  1. Complete Standard Payment Plan Form or the Financial Ability Form
    • These forms must be filled out completely;
    • The forms must be signed and dated.
  2. If you are unable to appear before the Judge, you must write to the court and include the items listed below:
    • An explanation of your circumstances stating why you need community service;
    • Request for community service in your letter to the court;
    • Include a completed Standard Payment Plan Form or the Financial Ability Form. 

Disclosure: Violations remain active with DPS unless the fine is paid in full. In accordance with the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 27.14(c), case payment will result in a waiver of a jury trial and a finding of guilty, which may be reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

As previously mentioned, other options may be available to keep a citation off your record.  A court appearance is required to request other options. Court check-in times are Tuesday through Friday mornings between 8:00 AM – 9:00 AM. Please arrive before 9:00 AM.  No one will be checked in after 9:00 AM.

Defendant Resources